2003-04 Atlantic Hockey All-Star Teams and Regular Season Awards Announced

March 12, 2004

Click Here for the Full PDF Release.

University of Connecticut’s Tim Olsen tabbed Player of the Year; Sacred Heart’s O’Brien Rookie of the Year; Quinnipiac’s Holden Goaltender Award; Holy Cross’ Pearl named Coach of the Year

Wakefield, Mass. - - University of Connecticut junior forward Tim Olsen has been selected as the inaugural Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year. The Atlantic Hockey Awards were voted upon by the league’s nine head coaches.

The Vadnais Heights, Minnesota native led Atlantic Hockey in scoring finishing the year with 19 goals, 18 assists for 38 points in conference play. His 19 goals was a league best while his 18 assists ranked him second amongst his peers. Olsen’s 38 points also gives him the Atlantic Hockey Regular Season Scoring Trophy. During the regular season, Olsen was named Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year four times.

Sacred Heart University’s Pierre Luc-O’Brien garnered this year’s Atlantic Hockey Rookie of the Year honors. The freshman forward, who hails from Nicolet, Quebec, tallied nine goals, 12 assists for 21 points for the Pioneers this season.

Jamie Holden took home the Atlantic Hockey Regular Season Goaltending Award. This award is presented to the goaltender that has the best goals against average during the regular season in Atlantic Hockey league games only. Holden, a junior from Telkwa, British Columbia, went 9-4-3 in league play, had a goals against average of 1.91 and saving percentage of .942.

Error! Hyperlink reference not valid.

The College of the Holy Cross Coach Paul Pearl was tabbed the Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year. The Crusaders skated to a 17-4-3 conference record and finished as the Regular Season Champions. Coach Pearl now focuses his and his teams’ attention as the top seed in the Atlantic Hockey Tournament. Pearl’s overall record is 135-123-23.

Rounding out the other individual awards, the Best Defensive Forward Award went to Holy Cross’ senior captain Greg Kealey. Hailing from Nepean, Ontario, Kealey tallied seven goals, 15 assists for 25 points for the Crusaders. The Best Defenseman Award belongs to Mercyhurst College’s T.J. Kemp. A junior defenseman from Pickering, Ontario, led Atlantic Hockey defensemen in scoring with three goals, 14 assists fro 17 points.

Tim Coskren was given the Atlantic Hockey Sportsmanship Award. Coskren a senior forward from Walpole, Massachusetts, played 24 league games and only had three penalties totaling six minutes. Coskren added six goals, nine assists for 15 points for the Crusaders.

American International College receives the Team Sportsmanship Trophy for lowest penalty minutes per game over the course the regular season in league play. The Yellow Jackets averaged 10.8 penalty minutes per game for 2003-04.

The Atlantic Hockey First-Team All-Conference Team consists of forwards Jeff Dams, Holy Cross; Tim Olsen, Connecticut; Guillaume Caron, AIC; defensemen T.J. Kemp, Mercyhurst; Eric Nelson, Connecticut; and goalie Jamie Holden, Quinnipiac.

The Atlantic Hockey Second-Team included forwards Garrett Larson, Sacred Heart; Mike Carter Mercyhurst; David Wrigley, Mercyhurst; defensemen Reid Cashman, Quinnipiac; Konn Hawkes, Sacred Heart; and goalie Tony Quesada, Holy Cross.

The Atlantic Hockey All-Rookie Team were forwards Pierre-Luc O’Brien, Sacred Heart; Matt Scherer, Connecticut; James Sixsmith, Holy Cross; defensemen Reid Cashman, Quinnipiac, Jamie Hunt, Mercyhurst; and goalie Scott Tomes, Connecticut.

[back to top]