Atlantic Hockey Names All-Conference Teams

Atlantic Hockey Names All-Conference Teams

Click here for the Atlantic Hockey All-Conference release (doc).

HAVERHILL, Mass. -- The Atlantic Hockey Association and its coaches have chosen the All-Conference Teams for the 2012-13 regular season.  All student-athletes were nominated by their own coaches and voted on by the remaining 11 coaches.

The forward line for the First Team All-Conference include Kyle De Laurell, Air Force; Giancarlo Iuorio, Niagara and Brett Gensler, Bentley.  On the blue line are Adam McKenzie, Air Force; Nick Jones, Mercyhurst and Chris Saracino, RIT.  The First Team goaltender is Carsen Chubak, Niagara.  De Laurell and Gensler repeat as First Team performers, as they were named to the 2011-12 All-Conference squad, while Jones was named to the Third Team last season.  Iuorio, McKenzie, Saracino and Chubak are first time honorees.

Gensler finished the season with 33 points on 13 goals and 20 assists, good for second in the conference.  De Laurell collected 27 points, while netting 17 goals and adding 10 helpers.  Iuorio had 25 points on 15 goals and 10 assists, while playing in 16 conference games this season due to an injury.  Saracino was tied for the league lead amongst all defensemen in scoring with 24 points (8 goals, 16 assists), while Jones was the fourth highest scoring defenseman with 18 points.  McKenzie was fifth in points amongst defenseman with 17 points.  Chubak appeared in 25 games for Niagara, posting a 20-3-2 mark with a 1.82 goals against average and a .939 saves percentage.  He posted a league leading five shutouts.

The Second Team All-Conference forwards are Ryan Misiak, Mercyhurst; Adam Pleskach, American International and Adam Brace, Robert Morris.  The defensive tandem on the Second Team is Dan Weiss, Niagara and Steve Weinstein, Bentley.  Ben Meisner, American International is the Second Team goaltender.  Pleskach was honored last season as a member of the Third Team All-Conference. 

Misiak added 30 points to the Lakers scoring, while Pleskach added 25 points for the Yellow Jackets.  Brace finished the season with the fourth highest point total with 29 (9 goals, 20 assists).  Weinstein finished tied with Saracino in points with 24, while Weiss added 10 points from the Purple Eagle blue line.  Meisner led American International to 24 points and the ninth seed in the tournament.  Meisner posted a 9-11-6 mark, with a 2.74 goals against average and a .927 saves percentage.  He had a pair of shutouts during the season.

The Third Team All-Conference front line is Matthew Zay, Mercyhurst; Kyle Gibbons, Canisius and Eric Delong, Sacred Heart.  Skating on the blue line for the Third Team are Kevin Ryan, Niagara and Jeff Ceccacci, American International.  Matt Grogan, Connecticut is in net for the Third Team. 

Zay led the league in points with 34, while scoring 10 goals and adding 24 assists.  Gibbons finished the season as the fifth leading scorer with 28 points (15 goals, 13 assists), while Delong led the Pioneers in scoring with 23 points (9 goals, 14 assists).  Ryan accumulated 15 points as a defenseman, while Ceccacci scored 11 points on the blue line for the Yellow Jackets.  Grogan appeared in 17 games for the Huskies, posting a 1.77 goals against average, a .941 saves percentage and an 11-1-3 mark.  Grogan earned a pair shutouts during the regular season.

The Atlantic Hockey Association
arose when nine institutions joined together on June 30, 2003, to form a new Division-I men’s ice hockey conference. The league currently consists of twelve members: Air Force Academy, American International College, Army, Bentley University, Canisius College, the University of Connecticut, the College of the Holy Cross, Mercyhurst University, Niagara University, Robert Morris University, Rochester Institute of Technology and Sacred Heart University.

2012-13 Atlantic Hockey All-CONFERENCE TEAMS 


Name                  Class                  Position                  School

Kyle De Laurell                  Senior                  Forward                  U.S. Air Force Academy

Giancarlo Iuorio                  Senior                  Forward                  Niagara University

Brett Gensler                  Junior                  Forward                  Bentley University

Adam McKenzie                  Junior                  Defense                  U.S. Air Force Academy

Nick Jones                  Junior                  Defense                  Mercyhurst University

Chris Saracino                  Senior                  Defense                  Rochester Institute of Technology

Carsen Chubak                  Junior                  Goalie                  Niagara University



Name                  Class                  Position                  School

Ryan Misiak                  Sophomore                  Forward                  Mercyhurst University

Adam Pleskach                  Senior                  Forward                  American International College

Adam Brace                  Senior                  Forward                  Robert Morris University

Dan Weiss                  Senior                  Defense                  Niagara University

Steve Weinstein                  Sophomore                  Defense                  Bentley University

Ben Meisner                  Senior                  Goalie                  American International College



Name                  Class                  Position                  School

Matthew Zay                  Sophomore                  Forward                  Mercyhurst University

Kyle Gibbons                  Junior                  Forward                  Canisius College

Eric Delong                  Senior                  Forward                  Sacred Heart University

Kevin Ryan                  Junior                  Defense                  Niagara University

Jeff Ceccacci                  Senior                  Defense                  American International College

Matt Grogan                  Senior                  Goalie                  University of Connecticut